Plainclothes Feast

A weekly peek at one dinner table, in the heart of one home, in the center of the country

Eggnog Cheesecakes

Leave a comment

This recipe is not for January. If you’re reading this in January, feel free to stop right now. Eggnog cheesecakes are the last thing you want, I know.

Eggnog cheesecakes and Christmas cookies and spiced cider and candy canes have about as much appeal right now as the snow that scuffs up along the edges of the snowplowed streets. At this point, I would no more bake an eggnog cheesecake than I would drag my shedding Christmas tree back up from the curb, through the frozen lawn and into the house.

(It was a lovely Christmas, though, and just look what a good mom I was):

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAYes, folks, that’s the trifecta: multicolored glittery sugar, frosting, and little kids. And I didn’t curse once during the entire experience! In fact, I didn’t even feel like cursing.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Christmas cookies are long gone now, and the snow will melt away before we know it. It will be, I strongly suspect, in only eleven months’ time, Christmas 2015, and, with great pleasure, I’ll pour a glug of velvety eggnog into my coffee cup and wistfully say, “Do you remember those amazing eggnog cheesecakes I made last year? How did I do that?”

eggnog1

And so, this recipe is for that me. Christmas-2015-Courtney, this is how you did it:

4 ounces of cream cheese

3 tablespoons Lyle’s Golden Syrup

1 egg + 1 egg yolk

1/4 cup sour cream

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/4 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg

Whipped cream

1. Skip the crust. Who needs it? Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

2. Whip together the cream cheese and Golden Syrup first. (No Golden Syrup? Maybe try a comparable amount of sweetened condensed milk!)

3. Add the egg, egg yolk, and sour cream and whip again.

5. When it’s smooth and beautiful, add the vanilla and the nutmeg.

6. Bake the batter in ramekins (however many you can fill) in a water bath for just ten minutes. Then turn off the oven. Let the ramekins hang out in there for about another hour. Remove them from the oven when they are still quite wobbly.

7. Chill for a couple of hours and then top them with whipped cream.

eggnog2

I didn’t even have time to take a picture before I tucked into mine. By March, I’ll be looking forward to them!

Leave a Reply

